Butterfly Dreams – The Monarch

Standard

I’ve always loved the Monarch Butterfly, I have seen them in migration in the wild, released them when I got married for the first time and mused about them in my shamanistic mind because I love symbolism in life, it is a way I intuitively operate. When I write here on my journal I am mostly guided in my spiritual pieces, and this one was gently nudging me since 4.15 this morning.

In the early hours of this morning they actually woke me up, they were tickling and buzzing all over my legs, sitting on the side of my head and I could see one of it’s full cute faces looking at me through the magnifying lens of my camera. Yes, it was only a dream but they left me with a peacefulness and joy as they floated around a beautiful light and minty greenhouse.

Since I was young I have dabbled enough in shamanism to know that, whenever any animal shows up with strong intent or in a unique way, it’s good to pay attention to the message it brings. To the Native Americans the butterfly is a symbol of joy. They remind us that life is a dance, not to take things quite so seriously. They also remind us to get up and move. Dance brings the sweetness of life. So, what do butterflies symbolize and what do we know about them?

Facts regarding the Monarch Butterfly:

  • Monarch butterflies are known as the wanderer butterflies in Australia and have been here since the early 1800s. Notable for its bright orange, black and white colouration, and whilst safe to humans they are toxic.
  • The Monarch is one of the longest living butterflies and will live for up to a couple of months after being released.
  • They are known for their transatlantic migrations elsewhere in the world, but in Australia they only make short trips if necessary, due to the already warm temperatures throughout most of the continent.
  • Monarch butterflies cannot fly if their body temperature is less than is below 55° F (13° C). They will sit in the sun or “shiver” their wings to warm up. (Sounds a bit like me!)

Butterfly: a symbol metamorphosis and transformation

Did you know that according to scientific research, the butterfly is the only living being capable of changing entirely its genetic structure during the process of transformation: the caterpillar’s DNA is totally different from the butterfly’s! Those who have a butterfly as their totem animal may have a difficult childhood.  Life lessons are revealed to the consciousness while in the womb of the mother – the cocoon stage –  and are completed when the caterpillar emerges into the butterfly and takes flight.  Butterflies are symbols of freedom and creativity. They hold the gift of transformation, shape-shifting and soul evolution, and equally require courage to carry out the changes required in order to grow.

When butterfly shows up, make note of the most important issues confronting you at the moment. What state of change are you at in regard to them? You may need to find clarity in mental or emotional processes or organise projects, or figure out your next step in your internal growth. Maybe you are about to undergo a significant transformation. Examine which stage calls your attention first: the egg is the beginning, the birth of an idea; the larva is the decision to manifest something in the physical world; the cocoon has to do with “going inside”;  the breaking of the cocoon is the creation and beauty shared with the world. They hold the gift of soul evolution…

Visit this link for a comprehensive description of the Monarch Butterfly as at Totem animal from a fellow West Australian’s website – It’s truly insightful!!

In my dream, I saw the face of the Monarch in close up detail. Butterflies have a pair of large compound oval eyes made up of thousands of individual lenses.  They can see a single image clearly and are able to perceive ultraviolet wavelengths of light.  This suggests clairvoyant abilities for those that hold this totem.

Their antennas have small knobs on each end which is said to play a role in orientation;  so when one antennae is missing the butterfly will fly in circles unable to find its way.  Those with this medicine need to stay consciously connected to spirit at all times in order to arrive at their desired destination. They appeared on my legs in my dream, my legs are weak from illness, and so I find it significant that this is where they alighted. In my dream I was also healthy.

It has also appeared  to the vibration of the number 9, a prominent number in my numerology, having been born on the 27=9 and 9th month. Plus today’s date 26/05/2012 = 2+6+5+2+0+1+2=18 =9. In numerology 9 represents creation and the life as a rhythm and development, it is the end of the cycle before it recommences.

Now to the colour of the butterfly. Orange relates to the 2nd Chakra (Sacral), one which I already know is not balanced in myself. The sacral’s main chakra meanings relate to the feeling of emotions (self confidence, one’s power), sensuality, security, commitment and honour in relationships and clairsentience or clear feeling. It’s energy is needed to create life and to achieve a creative expression that is essentially physical; the spiritual energy is to learn to interact consciously with others, to form unions with people who support our development, and release those that limit growth.

And, the fact that I was able to analyse, comprehend and write this so early in the morning denotes the significance even more!

8 responses »

  1. I dream of this butterfly but I was holding it in my hands and trap it on a paper to give it to someone else, I kept it in my back pocket and forgot as the dream developed only to realize later that I might have crush it in between the pocket and the paper realizing i killed it. hope this is not any bad luck as hard times are in my life.

  2. Pingback: Dream of Two Butterflies | Saronai's Blog

  3. Just had a dream of these last night after working with my chakras for the first time. There were two monarchs I found in the backseat of my car. I brought them inside and they flew around in the first two rooms of my home (which was a home I don’t recognize). There were also two bumblebees and signs of a lot of spiders on the porch. I killed one spider in the car. Was an interesting dream, to say the least. I saw webbing in corners and the porch area looked like it needed desperate cleaning and some repairs.

    It started out as the first room, later became the porch. The real first room was empty. I think we’d just moved in or something. The bumblebees kept dancing around each other around the room. I was trying to kill them so they wouldn’t hurt the butterflies. I kept missing, but was keeping the butterflies safe anyway.

    I didn’t actually know the part about their DNA, that’s really interesting. Thanks for the post. All this to say, your post here was a gem of a find for me when looking up monarch butterflies as a dream symbol.

    Yesterday was very tough, but I think I came out of it with more self-confidence than usual and more courage for making some life changes. Notably, putting way more effort into my fiction writing than my gaming habit. Seems to suggest to me, with what you wrote, that I was helping my sacral chakra/confidence/emotions successfully navigate traps and other things that use to take down my confidence. I know spiders suggest creativity…my confidence and creative joy and process can often get very tangled together to the detriment of both. Or at least it has in the past.

    Dreams like this sure are interesting!

    Anywho, thanks again for this. Gonna look up bumblebees, killing a spider, and the number 2 now 😀

  4. Amazing, exactly 2 years later I stumble upon this article.. 26/05/2014. While the numerology is different, my dream of the monarch butterfly this morning is very relevant. I am not keen on soul shifting so I will try to comprehend this as much as possible on my own.. Thank you :]

  5. I dreamt last night that a monarch butterfly landed on my neck and i asked my cousin to take a photo of it, in the picture i looked radiant. A few nights back id had vibrating going on around my throat area and my thought was, ‘the butterfly effect’. ive always been aware of monarchs throughout my life and my childhood especially, i find them a great comfort. i feel elated having had this dream. Thanks for your lovely post. Love & Light Jaki ❤

  6. Beautiful and well-written. I found your blog this morning when I googled “monarch butterfly dream symbolism” because just before I woke up, I dreamed a monarch landed on my finger and was staring into my eyes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

