The Secret Life of Me#1 – California Dreaming

Standard

In my early teens I would buy international travel magazines or special editions, I would dream about travelling to exotic places, or imagine adventures, like desert road trips in the US, california dreaming, seeing the pyramids of Mexico, or picturesque Canadian mountains. Sometimes I would hold onto a magazine that had inspiring photographic scenes or places, or decors of how I dreamed my house could be inspired by…earthy, with cultural pieces, antiques, Moroccan or ethnic tiles… then there was this perfume sample enclosed “New West” with watermelon notes, steeped in oak moss and musky undertones….it would imbue the magazine each time I opened it…I had to have it of course!…. scent is powerful for association, and it made me think of the spirit of the west coast, the earth, wind, sea and fresh summery days…and well the freedom that travel invoked…..The matte printed pages were well worn in that magazine!

One response »

Leave a Reply

