Passing over prayer

Standard

I wrote this in 1994 (18 years old) as a prayer to the death of River Phoenix and Brandon Lee, who tragically passed so young.

This is my prayer to you

for again you’ve touched the stars

you have seen, you have been

where life’s steps truly lay

my heart echoes a sadness

for my love and your love

makes my spirit cry

you are now the rising moon

the rich warm autumn leaves

the sun in all it’s glory

my dear you are divine

my tears fall into a ravine

not only in sadness but glee

what a spirit you are, now so free

you’ve travelled far

again you’ve touched the great spirit

reflecting like full moon rays

cuddling vast blue oceans

you understand

be not afraid

for your divine awakening

will be met by birth again

a time to retouch the roses

to mend a broken stem

and reach your essence to the sun

and to know you are a part of the One

One response »

Leave a Reply

