Log Cabin Fire

Standard

Just once or often, I covet for

the warmth of a log cabin fire

to sit in the sensualness

of my spiritual empire

and reverie for eternity

As I brood, I glimpse all

my treasures and my sentiments

here I feel earth natures spirit

in the Redwood hues and smoky scent

in the sphere of a pagan kingdom

In the quietness,I watch the flames

savouring and crackling the glowing coal

I sit cross legged, sip true Irish coffee

envisioning the dancing flames as souls

embracing, so warm and free

My lids close over, I’m so bewitched

by the nothingness in my mind

yet in my liberation, the world outside

beats with life of a noctural kind

for a spirited owlet hoots his cry

(23-6-95)

Leave a Reply

